Product How Tos

Step by step instructions on how to use Folder Lock…

How to Lock Folders And Files


The Lock files features uses Windows Kernel level locking and hiding, this ensures that your data is protected at windows system level, even if someone attempts to access your locked data in safe-mode, your information cannot be hacked.


The locking feature enables you to lock and hide your files and folder, it is basic level security that allows the user to quickly lock and unlock files that are considered sensitive yet need to be accessed regularly.


Learning how to lock your data doesn’t require you to have special computer skills, the procedure is simple and straightforward, the user-interface is designed to guide you through the whole locking process.


To get started with locking your folder and files, enter your master password and press ‘OK’.


You also have the option to enter your password through the virtual keyboard, this ensures that key loggers are not able to record your password.


If this is the first time you’ll be locking files, expect the lock file list to be empty. You can begin to add files by clicking on the ‘Add’ button, from the drop-down menu, you can choose to add files or folders. Alternatively, you can also drag and drop your files directly into the lock files user-interface.


Keep in mind that your files and folders will automatically be hidden and locked, if you don’t want automatic hiding and locking, you’ll have to go into the setting menu to change it.


Once your files and folders will be added to the lock list, you will not be able to view, copy or modify them unless you unlock them from the lock files menu.

If you want to access a certain file or folder, you will have to unlock them from the lock file menu.


However, keep in mind that your files and folders may still be searchable from windows search menu, as locking feature provides basic security.


If you do not want your files and folders to be automatically locked upon exiting Folder Lock, you’ll have to go into the settings menu to change your preference.


To change this setting, go into the Locking and Encryption menu (see image below).


Inside the menu, all you have to do is to unselect the checkmark which is labeled ‘Set locking ON…’