folder lock iconFolder Lock®

How Tos!

Step by step instructions on how to use Folder Lock

How to secure backup?

Folder Lock offers secure backup of your encrypted data to an online storage. Unlike other backup and encryption programs, Folder Lock has come about a full circle towards integrating its security in the cloud, by keeping your data encrypted for backup, even while you are working on your files or modifying them on your PC. No need to decrypt or manually backup your files.

Furthermore, the backup and restore transmissions of these files take place using 128-bit SSL connection, proven to keep the bad guys from intercepting encrypted data. Since data is encrypted at both ends, there is never a risk of data availability without a correct password; securing your confidentiality by protecting you from data-loss. You can later restore files at any time, on any computer, and in any device by providing a correct password.

 

Step 1

 

To start backing up your encrypted files, you must sign up for a Secure Backup account. If you have already signed up for an account, you can Login to the Secure Backup feature in Folder Lock by entering your User ID in the ‘Enter User ID’ field and your password in the ‘Enter Account Password’ field. Once you have entered the password, click on the ‘Login’ button, which will start the login process over a secure 128-bit SSL connection.

 

If you don’t already have a secure backup account, you can create one by clicking on the ‘Create Account’ button in the Login/Sign Up screen in the ‘Secure Backup’ in Folder Lock. The sign up process is completely web-based and secure. When you click on the ‘Create Account’ button in the ‘Secure Backup’, you will be taken to a web page where you can enter the required account sign up details.

On the Sign Up webpage, you will be asked to enter your account information including your User ID, account password, online storage quota, email address and credit card details. As soon as you sign up for the Secure Backup service, you will receive a confirmation email to the address you provided. The email will include your log in details as well as your account storage details.

 

All your account details are well protected and all transmission is carried over a secure 128-bit connection. Your data and information is safe and secure and pursuant to our Privacy Policy at the time.

Please note that the password you set for your Secure Backup account will be case-sensitive. It is, therefore, strongly recommended to make sure that you keep a password that is hard-to-guess, but easy-to-remember. The password will be at least 6 characters short and up to a maximum of 100 characters long. You may also use Alphanumeric or special characters to set your password.

 

Step 2

 

Once you have signed up for the Secure Backup service, you can then start using the service from within Folder Lock. To start using the Secure Backup service, simply run Folder Lock and go to the ‘Secure Backup’ tab to login to your account, once your account details have been validated, you will be taken to the Secure Backup list. The list will be empty if you are logging in to the Secure Backup for the first time. The list includes all items that are either being backed up and/or restored. All listed items will include information on file type, file path, file size, and file status.

 

Step 3

 

After you have logged in to Secure Backup in Folder Lock, you can add, delete, backup, and restore your Lockers. To start adding your Lockers to the Secure Backup, click on the ‘Add Locker’ button on the top menu, select the Locker you wish to back up online, and click ‘Add’ to confirm. Please note that ONLY Backup-able Lockers (*.flka) can be backed up. After the addition of your Lockers to the Secure Backup list, these Lockers will be automatically backed up every time the Locker is closed after a file modification. Once you add a Locker to the Secure Backup list, the list will then help you view in-queue items and those that have already been backed up.

 

Additionally, in the Secure Backup list, you can also view the name, path, and size of each listed Locker, the status for each listed Locker, the quota of your online storage used (in percentage), and the last backup/restore date & time for each Locker. When you add or change files on your computer, the status will be updated. All communication between Folder Lock and our online servers is through secure 128-bit SSL connections, and all secure backup is hassle-free, un-interrupted, and requires the least human-computer interaction.

How do I restore and sync my backup files?

There are three scenarios you may use to get your data back. Either you may want to restore all files within the Locker you already have in your computer. Or you may want to restore the complete Locker to a different computer. Or you may want two same Lockers on two different computers to sync between each other. Folder Lock offers you options to use all of these restore functions with ease.

If you want to restore all files to a Locker you already have on your computer, go to ‘Secure Backup’, select the ‘Locker’ in which you want to restore all files and then click the ‘Restore & Sync’ button and select ‘Restore All Files.

 

If you want to restore a complete Locker to a different computer, all you need to do is go to ‘Secure Backup’, select the ‘Locker’ you want to download (Note: Lockers with Question Mark) and then click the ‘Restore & Locate’ button and select ‘Restore this Locker. If you want to sync a Locker between two PCs then go to ‘Secure Backup’, select the ‘Locker’ you want to sync and then click the ‘Restore & Sync’ button and select ‘Sync Last Changes.

 

Note: There is a fourth case which will be taken care automatically in most cases. However, there is a slight possibility that the Locker you physically have doesn’t show up in the list for Secure Backup and therefore such a locker can be attached to the physical Locker by click the ‘Locate this Locker’ in the ‘Restore & Locate’ option.

 

How do I delete Lockers from Online Storage?

There will be times when you need to stop backup, whether temporarily or permanently. The Secure Backup feature in Folder Lock allows you to deal with it in three different ways. It gives you the option to either temporarily suspend the backup for specific Locker by clicking the ‘Stop Backup’ button or delete your Locker from your secure backup account using the ‘Delete from Backup > Delete Locker from Backup’ option.

 

To navigate to the Delete from Backup option in the Secure Backup feature, simply run Folder Lock and go to the Secure Backup feature. Once you’re in the Secure Backup feature, select a Locker from the list, and click the ‘Delete from Backup’ button on the top menu and select ‘Delete Locker from Backup’.

 

Note: If you have deleted certain files from your Locker in your computer and wish to permanently delete the same files from your online Locker, you can select the ‘Remove deleted files from Locker’s Backup’ option. This option will let you permanently remove all such files from the same Locker online. Folder Lock will keep your data backed up online until you choose to remove them permanently from your secure backup account. You can permanently remove all physically deleted files from the backup account by simply choosing ‘Delete from Backup > Remove deleted files from Locker’s Backup.’

 

How do I retrieve my Secure Backup Account USER ID and Password?

If you have forgotten your Secure Backup User ID or Password, simply run Folder Lock, go to the ‘Secure Backup’ tab, and click on the ‘Forgot Password’ link on the screen. This will take you to your secure backup webpage, where you will be asked to enter your email address. Your email address should be the same email that you used to sign up for your Secure Backup account. Once you have entered the required information, click on ‘Submit’ and you will receive an email with your online User ID and Password recovery details. To retrieve your User ID or Password, simply follow the instructions in your email.